Monday, June 10, 2013

If you like your noir uncompromising

What readers have been saying about my man out of prison noir trilogy (read here what the critics have been saying):

"Zeltserman's writing is brave and innovative and a sheer pleasure to read. "

"A delirious ride into the abyss that lurks inside all human beings and only a few brave authors dare set free. True noir."

"Everything I Love About Crime Fiction"

"What can I say about Small Crimes. This book was, beyond a doubt, absolutely brilliant."

"The book gets credit for being unafraid to show us a bad guy, no redeeming features, and play it out."

"Zeltserman is hands down an amazing writer. He accomplishes a fairly difficult feat by creating a protagonist you are both rooting for and at the same time are unsure whether or not to like."

"I am a huge fan of Zeltserman's work--THE CARETAKER OF LORNE FIELD was probably my favorite read of the year--but I was warned that PARIAH was much grittier, hard-boiled, and noir. I suppose it is, in its satirical and purposeful look at some of the elements of society that may bring about its downfall (not to overstate the point). But Zeltserman's prose styling, and sharp insights, make it rise above the usual noir novel, which I might put down. His work reminds me of Gillian White's, and Andrew Klavan at his best--think: THE EMPIRE OF LIES--and although PARIAH may leave you weary and shaken, it will also leave you understanding more about how we got here, which is the most I think we can ask of a book."

"Reading Dave Zeltserman's PARIAH was a slam to the side of the head with a sledgehammer, and that's a good thing if you enjoy digging into the mechanizations of the criminal mind."

"Kyle Nevin [PARIAH] is one of the fiercest characters I've read in a long time. If you like your crime hardcore, this is the book for you!"

"Richard Stark's anti hero Parker, may be the most well known and popular ruthless villain in hard crime fiction, but Zeltserman's Nevin, he'd give Parker nightmares."

"Dave Zeltserman is the Jim Thompson of the twenty-first century. It's clear from the first chapter of PARIAH that Kyle Nevin is a dark and disturbed character, but the extent of his psychosis isn't clear until you're deeply into the novel. Just when you think he can't get any worse, he does. It's a fascinating, shocking read, as well as an incisive commentary on our celebrity-obsessed culture."

"this is classic noir at its bleakest level."

"The dark joy of these novels, however, is that they never quite go where you think they will."

"Astounding."

"What truly drove the narrative of Killer for me, though, was the humanness of March. He appears so frail, so out of sorts and institutionalized, as if he's simply traded one type of prison for another once he's left jail. Of course, the honesty of the narrative and it's protagonist is brought into question once you reach the end of this incredibly satisfying, fast paced novel."

"KILLER is simply bad ass."

"I loved this book [KILLER] from the first page until the very end."



No comments: