Saturday, August 4, 2012

More about my latest novel MONSTER

My latest novel, MONSTER, is available now as both a hardcover and ebook (Kindle, Nook, etc.). In Mary Shelley's FRANKENSTEIN, Victor Frankenstein creates his monster out of a misguided youthful obsessions. In my book, Frankenstein has a far more sinister purpose for his creation, and everything he had told Captain Walton while dying aboard Walton's ship was a lie to protect his reputation. Now the monster finally gets to tell what really happened.

MONSTER is very much a horror novel, but it's also a story of good versus evil, and a very human story as the monster desperately tries to retain whatever remains of his humanity as he also seeks vengeance against a man who has horribly wronged him.

Here is what people are saying about MONSTER:

"Repudiating the 'outrageous fabrication' of Victor Frankenstein's story as told by Mary Shelley is the aim of this imaginative and grotesque novel from the revisionist perspective of the monster . . . Zeltserman's monster is every bit as eloquent as Shelley's, though his rage is more focused.This is juicy material for Franken-fans, and Zeltserman is just faithful enough to the original that his many fresh contributions feel entirely normal. Well, abnormal, to be accurate, but deliciously so." -Daniel Kraus, Booklist (*Starred Review*)

"This reworking of Frankenstein is chilling and captivating! A tale of justice, true love, and ultimate forgiveness, this gruesome novel is perfect for fans of Stephen King and similar horror stories." -ForeWord Magazine (*Pick of the Week*)

"A graphic, brutal story with heart and soul" - Crimespree Magazine

"A masterpiece of originality, beauty, ugliness, eloquence, wisdom and power" -Ed Gorman, author of Ticket to Ride

"When award season rolls around, this one's going to be a major contender" -Bill Crider, author of the Sheriff Dan Rhodes mystery series

"Brilliant reimagining of Frankenstein: faithful enough to delight lovers of Mary Shelley's masterpiece, but wonderfully inventive as it takes the monster on a bloody quest for vengeance" -Roger Smith, author of Wake Up Dead

"Dave Zeltserman continues to expertly explore the depths of darkness with MONSTER" -Paul Tremblay, author of The Little Sleep

No comments: